, CO
 

Pikes Peak Calendar of Events

Check this calendar page often for upcoming Colorado events to help plan your vacation or weekend getaway.  With so many beautiful sights to see and wonderful outdoor activities to enjoy while visiting the beautiful Pikes Peak Region of Colorado you may have a hard time incorporating everything you would like to do into your Colorado bed and breakfast vacation. Our solution is simple...make your stay in the area long enough to experience it all!

While visiting the Colorado Springs area be sure to plan enough time to enjoy the many outdoor activities offered such as whitewater rafting through the Royal Gorge on the Arkansas River or spend the day hiking, mountain biking or rock climbing at nearby Garden or the Gods, Pikes Peak or Mueller State Park. A scenic train ride on the historic Cog Railway or Royal Gorge Rail Route is also not to be missed. In addition choose from area attractions such as Seven Falls, the United States Air Force Academy, United States Olympic Training Center, Cliff Dwellings or Cave of the Winds along with shopping and dining in the historic districts of Manitou Springs and Old Colorado City.

Whether visiting Colorado Springs, Manitou Springs, Cascade, Chipita Park or Woodland Park on your vacation, honeymoon, anniversary or romantic getaway you'll have many activities and special events to choose from. Our friendly and knowledgeable bed and breakfast innkeepers are always happy to provide inn-sight into things to do while visiting the area along with unbeatable hospitality. Below are just a few of the highlights that bring visitors to the Pikes Peak area along with links to resources for area events.

See www.peakradar.com for information on Colorado Springs arts and cultural events, as well as additional listings of arts classes and workshops, organizations, venues, individual artists and performers, public art and more.

Another great resource is the Manitou Springs Chamber of Commerce Calendar of Events at: www.manitousprings.org/ASP/Calendar.asp

Here a just a few of the many wonderful events and activities offered throughout the year:

 

2009 Calendar

FEBRUARY


Big Horn Sheep Day

Saturday, February 14
10:00 AM to 3:00 PM
Contact - 719-219-0108
Garden of the Gods Visitor Center
www.gardenofgods.com

2nd Annual Cripple Creek Ice Festival
Saturday, February 7 thru Sunday, February 8
Saturday, February 14 thru Monday February 16
Cripple Creek
www.cripple-creek.co.us

Mumbo Jumbo Gumbo Cook-Off & Carnivale Parade
Saturday, February 21
08:00 AM to 1:00 PM
Contact - 719-685-5089
Manitou Springs Chamber of Commerce
www.manitousprings.org

MARCH

Wine Festival of Colorado Springs

Saturday, March 14 5:30 PM
Sunday, March 15 10:30 AM
Contact - 719-634-5583
Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center
www.csfineartscenter.org


APRIL

Celebration Metaphysical Fair

Friday, April 17 thru Sunday, April 19
Contact - 719-634-1810
Colorado Springs City Auditorium

MAY

Colorado College Commencement Ceremony

Monday, May 18
Contact - 719-389-6265
Colorado College, Colorado Springs

Territory Days
Saturday, May 23 thru Monday, May 25
Contact - Lynda Dunne lbrowndunne@qwestoffice.net
Old Colorado City, Colorado Springs
www.oldcoloradocityshopping.com

Celebration of the Arts Fair & Festival
Saturday, May 23 thru Monday, May 25
Contact - 719-685-9655
Memorial Park, Manitou Springs

Air Force Academy Commencement Ceremony
Wednesday, May 27
Contact - 719-333-1110
Falcon Stadium, USAFA, Colorado Springs

JUNE

Colorado Wine Festival

Saturday, June 06
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Contact - 719-685-5089
Memorial Park 500 Block of Manitou Avenue, Manitou Springs
www.manitousprings.org

Colorado Renaissance Festival
Saturday, June 13 thru Sunday August 2
Contact 877-259-3328
www.coloradorenaissance.com

Donkey Derby Days
Saturday, June 27 thru Monday June 29
Cripple Creek
www.cripple-creek.co.us

Plein Air Arts Festival
Saturday, June 20 thru Tuesday, June 30
Contact - 719-685-5089
Downtown Manitou Springs
www.manitousprings.org

JULY


Independence Day Firework Celebrations

Saturday, July 4
Various locations throughout the Pikes Peak Region
Colorado Springs
Cripple Creek
Manitou Springs

Ride for the Brand Ranch Rodeo
Saturday, July 4
Contact - 866-464-2626
Norris-Penrose Event Center, Colorado Springs
www.rideforthebrandranchrodeo.com

69th Annual Pikes Peak or Bust Rodeo & Fair
Wednesday, July 8 thru Saturday, July 11
Contact - 719-635-3547
Norris-Penrose Event Center, Colorado Springs
www.coloradospringsrodeo.com

Barr Trail Mountain Race
Sunday, July 12
7:00 AM to 11:00 AM
Contact - 719-590-7086 - Larry Miller
Barr Trail on Pikes Peak
www.runpikespeak.com

El Paso County Fair
Saturday, July 18 thru Saturday, July 25
Contact - 719-520-7880
www.elpasocountyfair.com

Pikes Peak Auto International Hill Climb
Sunday, July 19
4:00 AM to 3:00 PM
Contact - 719-685-4400
Pikes Peak Highway - 5 miles West of Manitou Springs
www.ppihc.com

2009 State Games of America
Thursday, July 30 thru Sunday, August 2
08:00 AM Daily
Contact - 719-634-7333
Colorado Springs
www.thesportscorp.org

AUGUST

Cripple Creek Honors America's Armed Forces
Saturday, August 8 thru Sunday August 9
Cripple Creek
www.cripple-creek.co.us

54th Annual Pike Peak Ascent
Saturday, August 15
7:00 AM to 3:00 PM
Memorial Park - Barr Trail
Contact - 719-473-2625 Pikes Peak Marathon Organization
Memorial Park - Barr Trail
www.pikespeakmarathon.org

54th Annual Pikes Peak Marathon
Sunday, August 16
7:00 AM to 3:00 PM
Contact - 719-473-2625 Pikes Peak Marathon Organization
Memorial Park - Barr Trail
www.pikespeakmarathon.org

SEPTEMBER

Colorado Balloon Classic
Saturday, September 5 thru Monday, September 7
Contact - 719-471-4833
Memorial Park, Colorado Springs
www.balloonclassic.com

34th Annual Commonwheel Artists Co-op Fine Arts & Crafts Festival
Saturday, September 5 thru Monday, September 7
10:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Memorial Park 500 Block of Manitou Avenue, Manitou Springs
www.commonwheel.com

Pikes Peak Challenge
Saturday, September 12
Contact - 719-574-1634
www.pikespeakchallenge.com

Colorado Springs IAFF Fallen Fire Fighter Memorial
Wednesday, September 16 thru Sunday, September 20
Contact - 202-824-8639
Colorado Springs
www.iaff.org

OCTOBER

Author Fest of the Rockies
Friday, October 2 & Saturday, October 3
08:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Contact email - shaddai3@aol.com
Downtown Manitou Springs

Emma Crawford's Victorian Wake
Friday, October 23
6:00 PM
Contact - 719-685-1011
Miramont Castle, Manitou Springs
www.miramontcastle.org

15th Annual Emma Crawford Coffin Race and Parade
Saturday, October 24
12:00 PM to 3:00 PM
Contact - 719-685-5089 Manitou Springs Chamber of Commerce
Manitou Avenue, Downtown Manitou
www.manitousprings.org

NOVEMBER

Christmas Tree Lighting with Santa
Friday, November 27
5:30 PM - 6:30 PM
Contact - 685-9741
Downtown Manitou Springs
www.80829.com

Victorian Christmas at Miramont Castle
Friday, November 27 thru Sunday, November 29
11:00 AM to 4:00 PM
Contact - 719-685-1011
Miramont Castle, Manitou Springs
www.miramontcastle.org

DECEMBER

Snowflake and Smiles Annual Christmas Parade
Saturday, December 12
12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
Downtown Manitou Springs